DEVICE COMPARISONS

HEATX-3 vs Lil: Dual Heating Against Ceramic Conduction and Induction

HEATX Lab2026-10-226 min read

Two boxes arrived on the same week. One is a HEATX-3, the other is a lil device from KT&G, the Korean brand that has spent the last decade making heated tobacco look less like a medical appliance and more like something you'd actually carry. Both claim to heat tobacco evenly. Both have a battery. Only one of them will fit in the pocket of someone who changed their mind halfway to the train station, and that's already the more honest thing I can say about this comparison. I've been using both sides of this comparison long enough to have opinions I'd defend, and long enough to know where the marketing runs out. What follows sticks to published specifications on both sides. Where I'm describing feel or flavour, I'm telling you it's mine.

Two entirely different answers to the same question

Strip away the branding and the real question is how a device delivers heat into a tobacco stick. KT&G's older answer, used in the lil SOLID line, is ceramic conduction: a heated ceramic surface touches the stick and heat travels by contact. Simple, proven, cheap to build. HEATX-3's GEN3.0 platform runs two zones instead of one — a base heating area and a wrapping heating area that surrounds the stick rather than sitting under it. That wrapping zone is the point. When heat enters from one direction only, the outer edge of the tobacco column gets less energy than the centre, and in my experience the last third of a stick tastes flatter. With the wrap-around zone covering the full circumference, I get a more even draw from first puff to last, and less of that thin finish that makes single-chamber devices feel like they're coasting. This is a subjective read on my own palate, not a lab result. Lil Hybrid takes a third path. KT&G describes it as dual-zone induction, and induction is the same core principle you'll find in the IQOS ILUMA: heat is generated in the device and transferred without the stick sitting directly on a hot element. Pair that with the wrapping concept and you're looking at an approach closer to HEATX-3's than to the SOLID's. I'd frame it this way. Conduction is proven and gentle. Induction is the modern direction. HEATX-3 sits in between, doing conduction with two contact zones rather than one. Whether that beats a properly engineered induction system is a question I can't settle from a desk, and anyone who tells you otherwise is selling something.

The battery gap is not subtle

This is where the comparison stops being close. HEATX-3 carries a 3200 mAh cell and delivers roughly 30 heating cycles on a full charge, with 320 seconds of working time per stick. The lil SOLID 2.0 has 880 mAh, charges in about 95 minutes, and KT&G puts it at about 2 sticks a charge. Lil Hybrid steps up to 1250 mAh and roughly 140 minutes of charging. I'll be direct: those are very different numbers, and only one of these devices is the endurance pick. My own framing of the lil devices is that they're small and fast. Charge them over lunch, they're ready. The HEATX-3 is the opposite — a big cell that wants a full overnight charge, then carries you most of the week. Over two full charges I counted 30 cycles once and 28 the other time, which is normal cell behaviour and close enough to the claim to trust.

Side by side

Specifications from the manufacturers' published material. Competitor figures here are vendor-stated, not independently verified by me.

SpecificationHEATX-3lil SOLID 2.0lil Hybrid
Heating approachDual heating GEN3.0 (base zone + wrapping zone)Ceramic conductionDual-zone induction
Induction or conductionConduction, two zonesConductionInduction
Heating zones212 (induction)
Battery capacity3200 mAh880 mAh1250 mAh
Charging timeAbout 2 hoursAbout 95 minutesAbout 140 minutes
Uses per chargeAbout 30About 2 sticksNot stated
Weight100 gNot statedNot stated
Modes4 (SOFT / MILD / NORMAL / BOOST)Not statedNot stated
Session length320 secondsNot statedNot stated
Stick ecosystemUniversal heated tobacco stickslil SOLID / lil SMOOOTH / lil CRESTNot stated

Where a cell says not stated, KT&G hasn't published the number publicly as far as I can find, and I'd rather leave it blank than fill it with an estimate.

Stick compatibility and the Korean market question

This is where Korean buyers have a genuine decision to make, and it's not a close one. HEATX-3 takes universal heated tobacco sticks. That's a real advantage in a market like Korea's, where the lil family has a genuine grip on shelf space and stick availability is mostly excellent in urban areas but patchier the further you get from a convenience store. Flexibility in stick choice also means you can compare brands and formats on your own terms rather than committing to one ecosystem. If you came to this from a lil SOLID review, you already know the KT&G half of the story: small body, quick charge, sticks that are easy to find. The lil side offers a curated range: lil SOLID, lil SMOOOTH and lil CREST. Users who care about consistency and about a manufacturer standing behind the whole chain will find that focus worth something. Users who want to try a different stick format mid-week are more constrained. I spent a chunk of a recent trip in Seoul watching what people actually carried, and lil sticks were the default in almost every convenience store I walked into. Availability is a real advantage for KT&G, and I won't pretend otherwise.

Where HEATX-3 is worse

Let me get the awkward parts out of the way. At 100 g, the HEATX-3 is heavy for this category. Its 35 × 22 × 98 mm body is a large volume of metal for a stick-shaped device, and the ILUMA manages 74 g. The lil devices are smaller and lighter in the hand, and if you're the sort of person who forgets what device is in your pocket, 100 g is noticeable. It's not disqualifying — I carry it without thinking about it — but it's heavier than the alternative. Two hours of charging over USB Type-C is the other one. Against lil Hybrid at about 140 minutes and lil SOLID 2.0 at about 95 minutes, HEATX-3 takes the longest wall-clock time in this comparison. If you top up during a coffee break, that matters. If you charge overnight, it disappears. Then the software story. HEATX-3 has no app, no Bluetooth, and no firmware updates. The lil devices don't build out an app ecosystem either, so on that specific point you're not choosing between much — though it's worth knowing that the category does contain products with real app integration, like the ILUMA, so "no app" is a choice rather than an inevitability. The screen is honest but thin. It shows battery level, puff count and current mode. That's three useful data points and nothing else. Someone who likes a dashboard will find it underwhelming.

Which one should you buy

If your priority is endurance and stick choice, the HEATX-3 wins clearly. 3200 mAh and roughly 30 cycles per charge is a genuinely different week-of-use experience from an 880 mAh cell and about 2 sticks, and universal stick compatibility means you're not locked into one manufacturer's ecosystem. Four modes — SOFT, MILD, NORMAL, BOOST — are the right amount of control for most people, and auto-start on stick insertion with a long press to stop is the behaviour you want day to day. It comes in black, purple, green and silver matte. If you want the smallest, lightest, fastest-charging device, and you prefer a curated stick range backed by a major Korean manufacturer, the lil line is the sensible pick. lil SOLID 2.0 charges in about 95 minutes and is the easiest of the three to live with on a short day. lil Hybrid is the more interesting of the two KT&G devices because dual-zone induction is closer to where the technology is heading. Neither of these is a health product. Neither is a cessation tool.

A note on health and the law

Heated tobacco is not harmless. It avoids combustion, which reduces exposure to many of the toxicants in cigarette smoke, but it still delivers nicotine, and nicotine is addictive. Nothing in this article is medical advice, and I am not a doctor. If you don't already use tobacco or nicotine, there's no reason to start. If you do, check the age and tax regulations where you live, buy only from licensed sellers, and treat any of these devices as a reduced-harm nicotine product rather than a safe one. All competitor specifications quoted here come from the manufacturers' own published material and public evaluations. They have not been independently verified by me, and specs change. Check the current numbers before you buy.